Available in 60 minutes (or less) on Drizly!

Mezschool

How Is Mezcal Gluten-Free?

gluten-free mezcal

We have a lot to boast about here at Mezcal Rosaluna (https://mezcalrosaluna.com/the-mezcal). Our handcrafted Mezcal doesn’t contain GMOs, is vegan, zero-carb, plant-based, carbon-neutral, and best of all? It’s gluten-free. This is perfect for those wanting to cut gluten out of their lives or for those who may have to due to medical conditions such as Celiac disease. Just because you can’t have gluten doesn’t mean you can’t have fun… or have Mezcal! We’ll show you the way.

Good Mezcal Is Gluten-Free

About 30% of Americans avoid gluten (https://www.cnet.com/health/nutrition/reasons-for-eating-a-gluten-free-diet/) for a variety of reasons. Gluten is in most bread, pasta, and other items that contain grains. Many people are finding they have sensitivities or bloating from gluten and deciding to cut it out of their lives. People who suffer from Celiac disease, irritable bowel syndrome, allergies to certain kinds of wheat or grains, or those with gluten sensitivities need to adjust their diet to remove these products that wreak havoc on their body. Symptoms of gluten issues may include:

  • Bloating
  • Diarrhea or constipation
  • Exhaustion
  • Stomach upset
  • Skin rashes

Luckily, our Mezcal contains absolutely zero gluten and is purely distilled. This is because it’s made from organic agave. However, some companies try to be tricky and add flavorings or additives that contain gluten, so if you have sensitivities, you’ll need to keep your eyes peeled on those labels. Since we’re all-natural, we don’t have any of those extra chemicals in our Mezcal Rosaluna. Plus, we’re vertically integrated, which means we have a hand in every step of our production process and thus have an unparalleled ability to quality control. You’re safe with us.

Okay, But Is It 100% Gluten-Free?

Yes, yes, yes! We don’t process other products here, so there’s no room for any cross-contamination. What makes Rosaluna 100% gluten-free? Our distillation and fermentation processes, that’s what.

When we ferment our Mezcal, we add water to our agave using pine wood. This takes about eight days. Then, we distill it. Distilled alcohol (https://nationalceliac.org/frequently-asked-questions-about-alcohol-on-the-gluten-free-diet/)removes any of the beginning proteins from the product, meaning starches are taken out of the equation.

Oh, and did we mention Mezcal Rosaluna is double-distilled? In our first distillation, we mix the agave juice with the fiber, which brings sweetness to our Mezcal. In the second distillation, we take the head and heart from the first distillation and put it on repeat, which removes any extra unwanted factors from our product. This separates the water from the alcohol and brings out the flavors we use, such as the smokey taste from our fermentation process. To learn more about how we make our Mezcal, check outour farm (https://mezcalrosaluna.com/the-farm).

We’ve Got Agave to Thank

Boy, do we love agave. Why? Because agave is one of only three products in our Mezcal. The other two? Water and lots of love. Agave is the beautiful plant that makes this drink gluten-free and easier for our friends prone to tummy aches.

Agave nectar takes a while to become sweet. It’s a tedious process that ensures its flavors come out in our Mezcal. After the plant has ripened, weharvest (https://mezcalrosaluna.com/article/agave-harvesting)it and remove the pina, which is in the middle of the planet. It has a bulb-like shape and can weigh anywhere between 80-200 pounds. We extract the nectar by cutting off the top of the plant, hollowing it out, and placing a siphon in it to allow the nectar to drain.

We then roast it over pinewood leaves, mill it with a tahona, and double-distill it. We wait about eight years after planting to harvest. We know that sounds like a while, but all good things are worth the wait.

Tequila: Gluten Friend or Foe?

Tequila is also gluten-free, as are several other alcohols. Often, Mezcal and tequila get confused, and it’s understandable, considering both come from the agave plant. However, there are over 200 species of agave, and tequila only comes from the blue agave plant.Tequila (https://www.foodandwine.com/cocktails-spirits/differences-between-tequila-mezcal#:~:text=Tequila%20is%20typically%20produced%20by,being%20distilled%20in%20clay%20pots.)is usually made by steaming the agave in industrial ovens and then distilling them in copper pots.

Mezcal, however, is cooked in pits and distilled in clay pots. We stick with tradition and roast ours over pinewood logs in the ground, cover it with stones, and pile on the agaves. The aging of the agave is similar in both Mezcal and tequila; however, the labeling is not. Both have three different age categories.

Other distilled alcohols that are gluten-free include vodka, gin, whisky, wine, and some beers that are labeled as gluten-free. It’s always good to do your research and make sure the manufacturer does not process grains containing gluten in the same area as your liquor, which can cause cross-contamination.

And That’s That

Mezcal Rosaluna goes above and beyond other Mezcals and alcohols when it comes to our commitment to being gluten-free. Our Mezcal is certified GFCO (Gluten Intolerance Group of North American) gluten-free, so you know it’s been checked twice. This isn’t a small certification, either. The process includes submitting our product list, being audited, and taking corrective actions if required. But gluten-free Mezcal is our promise to you. And we take our promises seriously.

Going gluten-free is necessary if you suffer from medical conditions. For others, it’s just a choice that often just feels better for their bodies. Many popular diets follow the gluten-free or gluten-restricted roads, such as the ketogenic or paleo diets. Thankfully, there are a lot of alternative options on the market to adapt to lifestyle changes. Why waste your gluten intake on alcohol when you don’t have to?

Some of the health benefits of going gluten-free include feeling less bloated, experiencing less gastrointestinal upset, increasing energy levels, and reducing inflammation in your body. It could also help you lose weight if you find that your body reacts poorly to gluten. If you feel sluggish and experience bowel issues or pain after eating glutenous foods, you may want to look into going gluten-free.

We can’t speak on behalf of other spirits, but we are proud to be gluten-free. We put in the work to make sure we became certified for our g-free friends. You never have to worry about cross-contamination and can rest assured that your alcohol is being processed in a traditional, sustainable environment. Not to flex but… that’s pretty cool.

Mezcal Rosaluna, your gluten-free Mezcal of choice! Find a store near you (https://mezcalrosaluna.com/find-us), or have it shipped directly to your door (https://mezcalrosaluna.com/the-mezcal).

Sources:

Top 3 reasons why so many people go gluten-free: Celiac disease is only one | CNET (https://www.cnet.com/health/nutrition/reasons-for-eating-a-gluten-free-diet/)

Frequently Asked Questions about Alcohol on the Gluten-Free Diet | National Celiac (https://nationalceliac.org/frequently-asked-questions-about-alcohol-on-the-gluten-free-diet/)

What's the Difference between Tequila and Mezcal? | Food & Wine (https://www.foodandwine.com/cocktails-spirits/differences-between-tequila-mezcal#:~:text=Tequila%20is%20typically%20produced%20by,being%20distilled%20in%20clay%20pots)

Enjoy the beauty right in front of you.

Rosaluna

Are you over 21?