Available in 60 minutes (or less) on Drizly!

Mezschool

Gluten Free Drinks (That Even Non-Celiacs Will Love)

There are many reasons to follow a gluten-free diet. Whether you have a gluten sensitivity, have been diagnosed with celiac disease, or simply want to avoid all of the gluten-filled noodles and breads that usually make up your diet, avoiding the substance takes a bit of work. Going gluten-free means reading plenty of labels to ensure the food in your pantry remains free of gluten and that your alcoholic beverages follow suit, too. It all starts with knowing exactly which ingredients have gluten in them and which are perfect for a gluten-free night out.

Which Common Drink Ingredients Have Gluten?

Some of the drinks that have gluten in them are pretty obvious. Something like beer, which is grain-based, clearly isn’t gluten-free. However, many other cocktails and drinks may have gluten in them, and it’s relatively easy to be bamboozled.

Beer and Malt Beverages

Two things are almost immediately off the table when you’re on a gluten-free diet – beers and malt beverages. Both are made primarily from gluten-filled ingredients like barley, wheat, and hops.

While you might find some gluten-free beers (made with rice and other things), or gluten-removed beers, you still need to be careful.

Caramel Coloring

Some types of caramel coloring are often made with gluten. They’re malt-based, either made of barley or wheat. If you look at the ingredients list for the coloring, the first item listed is “carbohydrates,” which is a clue that gluten is involved.

While the coloring might have extra-refined gluten that’s safe for certain kinds of gluten sensitivities, it’s better to be safe than sorry.

Sneaky Drink Mixes

People who depend on handy drink mixes to make their cocktails need to be on the lookout for gluten. Some of these mixes contain wheat or barley, so you should glance over the ingredients list while shopping at the grocery or liquor store. Look for mentions of carbohydrates, as well as gluten-filled ingredients.

Wine Coolers

Like malt beverages, most wine coolers are barley-based. This means that they contain gluten, so our gluten-free friends must avoid them. There are some gluten-free wine coolers on the market, but it’s pretty easy to get mixed up.

Let’s Skip to the Fun Part—What Can I Drink?

Although beer, malt beverages, certain drink mixes, anything with caramel coloring, and wine coolers are all off the table, you still have plenty of options. Great news, right?

Not only is Mezcal Rosaluna gluten-free, but so are these four cocktails, all of which feature our favorite agave-based liquor. Time to drink up and have some fun – all while staying safely gluten-free!

Pink Moon Paloma

Looking for something that tastes fresh and is gluten-free? This twist on a classic Paloma is just what you need.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 oz Mezcal Rosaluna
  • 1 oz Fresh grapefruit juice
  • 0.5 oz Lime juice
  • 0.5 oz Agave syrup
  • 1 pinch of Sea salt
  • Garnish: Torched rosemary sprig and topped with seltzer

INSTRUCTIONS

Start with a chilled glass. Pour in the Mezcal Rosaluna, grapefruit juice, lime juice, agave syrup, and sea salt. Top with seltzer and mix well. Add the rosemary on top before serving.

The Antidote

If you enjoy a good Negroni but want it to be gluten-free, then this is the drink for you. Made of three simple ingredients, you’ll be able to put The Antidote together quickly.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1.5 oz Mezcal Rosaluna
  • 1. oz Vermouth
  • 0.75 oz Aperitivo
  • Garnish: Grapefruit swath

INSTRUCTIONS

Chill a rocks glass and fill it with ice. Pour all ingredients – the Mezcal Rosaluna, Vermouth, and Aperitivo – into a different glass filled with ice. Stir them together, then strain the drink into the chilled rocks glass. Add on some bits of grapefruit as a garnish and enjoy.

Seventeen Fifty

Sometimes, you just need an entirely new kind of cocktail. The Seventeen Fifty is a vintage classic that not many people have tried today, but we’re ready for its popularity to come roaring back with this new twist.

INGREDIENTS

  • 0.75 oz Mezcal Rosaluna
  • 0.75 oz Lime juice
  • 0.75 oz Aperol
  • 0.75 oz Yellow Chartreuse

INSTRUCTIONS

Start by chilling both a shaker glass and a cocktail glass. Put the Mezcal Rosaluna, lime juice, Aperol, and yellow chartreuse into the shaker glass. Shake well before straining the drink into the cocktail glass.

The New Fashioned

You’ve no doubt heard of an old fashioned. Well, this drink, the New Fashioned, is an homage to the original, only with a modern, gluten-free twist.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1.5 oz Reposado tequila
  • 0.5 oz Mezcal Rosaluna
  • 1 tsp Agave nectar
  • 2 dashes Bitters
  • Garnish: Flamed orange peel

INSTRUCTIONS

Add ice to a glass, and then top with the Reposado Tequila, Mezcal Rosaluna, agave nectar, and bitters. Stir to combine and then place the flamed orange peel in the glass for a touch of drama.

Gluten-Free Sounds Great to Me!

No matter the reason for your gluten-free diet, one thing is clear – there are plenty of cocktails and other alcoholic beverages to choose from. The four cocktails listed here, featuring Mezcal Rosaluna, are all free of pesky glutinous ingredients, so you can sip to your gluten-free heart’s content.

Sources:

Gluten Free Alcohol | Very Well Fit

Is Liquor Gluten Free? | Beyond Celiac

Gluten Free Alcoholic Beverages | Celiac.com

Enjoy the beauty right in front of you.

Rosaluna

Are you over 21?